top of page

HULL FAIR IN 1600


October was energised with the bright lights of the fun fair rides on Hessle Road. Families packed on Park and Rides with candy floss and fairy wands. I decided to go back in time to the original fair in Hull in the year 1600. A guided walk that started from the Wilberforce Statue outside Hull college.

There were about nine of us lead by a local historian. A guy from Rochester passing a couple of hours indulging in Hull's local history while he was waiting top have a caravan repaired. A mature student who had written a paper on the impact of railways in the city. Oh and a lovely lady who walked at my snail's pace it was the first week without my moon boot.

We walked around old Hull locating the spots where the trade in cattle, horses and rare fabrics was viewed as important as the bright lights of today at the funfair further out of Hull.

I am writing a book about whaling and found out about a local History book fair on Saturday 28th October at the Holy Trinity Hall.

Be sure to go there will be some rare books on show and I have now applied to join a local history group.

City of Culture has taken me like that. Given me experiences that will go beyond 2017.


Who's Behind The Blog
Recommanded Reading
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow "THIS JUST IN"
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Black Google+ Icon
bottom of page