top of page

WILLIAM TYNDALE MORE INFLUENTIAL THAN MELVYN BRAGG AND KERRY EVANS

Melvyn Bragg, writer and broadcaster, talked mostly about his latest book, William Tyndale A very Brief History, at the Central Library on 4th October in Hull. The ticketed event was part of the Humber Mouth festival enjoying its 25th anniversary during 2017 Hull’s Special Year. The talk was attended by many loyal fans. There will be more from their mouths soon. We all got a sneak preview of William Tyndale which will not be on general release for a few weeks.

Melvin Bragg signing his new book

Tyndale is more influential than even Shakespeare yet largely ignored by mainstream admirers of the English Language. Yet in the 1500’s it was his English words which inspired ordinary people to rise against the state rather than visual cannon balls like facebook which are the spark to civil uprising today.

Melvyn spoke with passion about a man who not only devoted his life to what he saw as his mission, for ordinary folk like yeomen to be able to read and understand God’s word. He paid for his beliefs with his life. Prior to this there were only Latin versions of the bible available in this country.

In 1536 the frail scholar found himself on a pyre about to have his flesh melted away. Yet after a lifetime of fighting off Renaissance political and religious sub defuse he called out “Lord, open the King of England’s eyes!”. I am trying to move from magazine writing at the moment to concentrating more on books. Not sure I would go to those lengths devoted as I am.

I would highly recommend this book. I studied Renaissance history for while at Queen’s University Belfast and my major was English Language and Literature, so I had come across the names of the time which Melvyn alluded to. It is a concise and well informed offering. Melvyn left no stone unturned research wise which is evident from the illustrations and detail. A lot of time went into a slim book.

I can really relate to this because I have been researching a whaling book I am writing at the moment for ten years, The Hanged Man of Grobsness, which explores links between Shetland and Hull and the whaling industry. To be concise and yet write in a way which invites you to explore more is a rare skill. Something I can certainly learn from.

Melvyn talked about the people he had interviewed over the years and how like Tyndale they seemed to know early on what they wanted to do and obsess on their goal.

I nodded my head in agreement as he spoke these words because I knew since I was 6 I wanted to write. I was the only person in my family to go to University at the time, and worked as a stringer on a local newspaper until I got my first commissions writing for national leisure titles in my twenties. I believe Mr Bragg had a similar upbringing. He is a real man which all the audience could relate to in their own way.

He alluded to having to drop science and maths at school. That he had to educate himself by interviewing authors of pseudo-science books. I had to smile when he said this because three years ago I decided to make up for my lack of maths and science qualifications by going back to evening college and studying GCSEs in maths, physics, chemistry and biology.

William Tyndale may be a slim book but do not be deceived. It gives much food for thought.

Melvyn has successfully re invented himself as a presenter and tried different kinds of genres. Being the mother of now adult sons with severe autism, Chris (26) and Jacob (21), I was touched to hear about the love and care he gave his wife with dementia a while back. This is what prompted me to come and see him.

It is not easy moving between different areas of the media and still managing to have such a successful career while coming to terms with and caring for a loved one with cognitive challenges. In my three books about autism which I am currently writing I have experienced this first hand. I have also cared for individuals with dementia. Getting copy out on time when your child is having a brain seizure or you have to attend appointments with them is no mean feat.

I was right about this event. It was a chance for literature fans to explore further subjects which inspired them. Listening to Melvyn describe how so many people he had met needing the passion to be a success made me realise at least I have accomplished the first piece of my mission. My need to make ordinary people realise the ups and downs of living with autism while following a career in the media and trying to lead a normal life like everyone else. Marooned, the first book in the series of my three books, will be published soon. Details to be announced on the Uncharted Seas website.

In the meantime read Melvyn’s book and enrich your own love of the English Language.

Who's Behind The Blog
Recommanded Reading
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow "THIS JUST IN"
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Black Google+ Icon
bottom of page